Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 20 Oct 2015, 23:56

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Nuisance coyote problem
PostPosted: 15 Oct 2012, 19:54 
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

I am a newbie to this topic so I thought I would ask the pros! A local horse farmer contacted me, thru my wife, today asking if I would take care of a coyote problem she is having. She said that a coyote or a pack of coyotes killed one of her horses? I haven't got a chance to actually talk to her yet so I do not know alot of the story yet but I wanted to ask if anyone has ever had any experience with this sort of thing? I guess without a lot of knowledge on this sort of thing I am hesitant to believe that coyote would bring down a horse? Is it more likley that she is dealing with a pack of dogs? What kind of sign should I be looking for to be able to tell the difference? I would really like to know what I'm dealing with before I go on the attack! I appreciate any help anyone could give me on this.

Thanks

PostPosted: 15 Oct 2012, 20:24 
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

i would go and look things over and put some steel in the ground and if you catch a pack of dogs dispatch them and if you get some coyotes dispatch them..but i wouldn't imaging a pack of coyotes killing a horse. someone may have shot it then the coyotes eat it. or it died from something. but i guess if they get hungry enough who knows what they could do....just my 2 pennies.. thanks, denny

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2012, 06:44 
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

oh, by the way welcome to WAT!!!!!

PostPosted: 16 Oct 2012, 19:00 
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

Old or sick horse most def could be coyotes .

PostPosted: 17 Oct 2012, 12:49 
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie