Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 18 Oct 2017, 02:40

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Putting up possum
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2014, 19:34 
Trapper
Trapper

Ok. This is our (me and son) first attempt with our first possum. We screwed up at the front legs and around the ears. The wire stretcher isn't big enough. So I know we have those problems. But does it look clean enough? Picture isn't great but please let me know. Thanks and please be gentle.

Also, this is my first attempt to post a picture and first time using photobucket so I am not sure there will even be a picture. But here goes!

Post subject: Re: Putting up possum
PostPosted: 26 Nov 2014, 19:35 
Trapper
Trapper

Well the picture is there but awful small on my computer. Any input on how to make it bigger?

PostPosted: 26 Nov 2014, 23:41 
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

Hoosier you did better then me, i couldnt get a pic to upload. Hate to say as when i zoom in it gets real fuzzy.

PostPosted: 27 Nov 2014, 01:27 
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

H71- Glad you're trying to put up your fur. From reading an article in Fur, Fish, & Game last year, there seems to be less folks who are. I don't see any major cuts in the hide or ripped front armpits so that's good. Hard to tell from the small scale how clean the leather is of fat. Grinners flesh fairly easy but a person can also scrap too hard and go through to the hair roots. The pouch area on females rips fairly easy. You can check out either NAFA's or Fur Harvesters' guide to various critter fur handling for a good many tips. The FH one has more step by step pictures in it. Hope you get your dollar :)