Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 17 Nov 2017, 14:32

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Just Coming On Board
PostPosted: 05 Feb 2008, 10:04 
KING OF THE POSTERS
KING OF THE POSTERS

Hello Fellow Texas Trappers- I just ran across this site a few days ago and have been enjoying reading all the blogs and looking at the photos. I live in Lufkin and trap near Spurger. I am retired after 39+ years with the Santa Fe Railroad ... worked as an engineer most of that time. Between the logging companies and RITA (the hurricane) our 7400 acre lease is fairly devastated! The storm seemed to concentrate in the sloughs and thus ruined some pristine trapping areas. It is hard to trap in places you can hardly stand up in. I have been stringing steel since 1959...made some money in the early 80s...mostly just recreation now.

I have noticed a decline in grey fox and mink in the areas I trap in. I sold my coons over at R-P Outdoor Supply in Mansfield,LA to Randy Gallaspy the other day and he said he gets very few "piney woods" mink any more. Reckon where they went?

Last season for the first time in over 20 years I had the first trap stolen while trapping on my lease. It involved a dog (our club isn't suppose to have dogs on it) and a contract truck driver that hauls salt water out of the lease. I found everything but my trap. I even spoke with the fellow who the dog belonged to. I have had many traps stolen in years past when I trapped on public lands. These days it is a monetary loss when one goes missing.