Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 20 Nov 2017, 06:38

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: 15 Dec 2010, 12:45 
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Hi. I'm new to trapping and i've got a question that seems beyond google so i joined this forum to ask some people who might know what they're talking about. First, some background.... I'm from RI but i'm moving to northern Maine around late spring/early summer with my friend who just purchased 20 some odd acres. There's a brook running along the edge of the property.
This is probably an unusual topic. Our plan is to live off the land as much as possible, and, as that is the case, I want to make the land more 'efficient' at supporting smaller game in whatever way i can. (it seems relatively empty of life, even at the brook.)
I was hoping the people here might have some ideas to get some squirrels in the trees and beaver/muskrat in the water. Maybe you have some trick (like birdhouses for squirrels? I don't really know what I'm expecting.) or otherwise can tell me if people ever "stock" game animals like they do with fish.

PostPosted: 15 Dec 2010, 14:22 
Trapper
Trapper

You can stock rabbits( check with local conservation officials ). If this property has a stream that contains fish, crawfish, salamander ect.. then it also holds wildlife (ai..coon,fisher,mink ect..) I have to say I admire the idea of living of the land and can honestly say the thought crossed my mind years ago when i wasn't married and had three children. I wish you the best of luck and I'm sure that you will have some really great reply's on here due to the knowlege of the other people on here.

1-skunk
10-grey fox
1-red fox
0-marshrats
0-mink
0-coyotes

PostPosted: 15 Dec 2010, 15:11 
Forum not-so-Newbie
Forum not-so-Newbie