Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 16 Dec 2017, 23:27

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Missing to many Beaver
PostPosted: 21 Dec 2006, 16:52 
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Hey fellow trappers,
I'm new to your forum here and this seems to be the place to find some help to my problems.
this is my first year trapping beaver and back into trapping after many years away from it, anyways I'm trapping this creek for a farmer to rid it of some beaver and have caught 2 so far (3 days) in # 330's but all my #3 Vics w/os are getting sprung but no hits. None have even been moved down the cable. They are set about 18-20" back and offset about 4" all but one are on slides the other is on a castor mound I made w/castor.
So what am I doing wrong here? Any thoughts would be great!

Crittergitter69

06-07 Catch

Coon-10
Rats-18
Mink-3
Coyote-4
Beaver-2
grinners-11
Rabbit-3
squirrel-1

3 WEEKS INTO IT

Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Dec 2006, 17:56 
Trapper
Trapper

whats your pan tension set for you could be getting hit by by muskrats. if pan tension is ok. it could be belly hits. try steping sticks. Or if your on a steep slope you could have dirt clauds falling of to and setting them off. Just a few examples.

Post subject:
PostPosted: 21 Dec 2006, 23:56 
Experienced Forum User
Experienced Forum User

Could be like me, I didn't have the traps oriented properly for the
beavers foot, they were tripping them & throwing thi9er foot off the trap.

Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Dec 2006, 00:04 
Trapper
Trapper

mike did you get that beaver yet

Post subject:
PostPosted: 22 Dec 2006, 20:15 
Experienced Forum User
Experienced Forum User

Well Trapperkd the weather here went south, got 2" rain the creeks that
normally have 2ft of water are bank full 12-16 ft of wet stuff, so I'm dun for a week at least, trapping coons in an abandon house-1cat 2skunks &
3 coons, the coons have slowed down last couple morn. just skunks.