Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 20 Oct 2017, 13:00

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: wax paper question
PostPosted: 08 Dec 2006, 19:31 
Trapper
Trapper

i hkeep hearing that peope use wax paper to keep them from freezing...but i have never done it and i don't really know what you mean, i could see putting it under the trap, but won't the critters feel it crinkle if you put it on the top?

weasel-1
rats-46
Mink-
coon-3
Skunk!-1
Misc- 4
grinners-8
otter-1
Beaver-9

Post subject:
PostPosted: 08 Dec 2006, 21:10 
Trapper
Trapper

ARMYMEDIC2 i AM VERY NEW TO TRAPPING BUT IT IS MY UNDERSTANDIN THAT YOU CRINKLE THE WAK PAPER UP BEVORE YOU PLACE IT ON THE PAN. :?

fox 5
skunk 2
grinners 3
Thanks Donnie& TY

Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2006, 08:34 
Trapper
Trapper

you mean to take the rigiity out of it, not ball it up right?

weasel-1
rats-46
Mink-
coon-3
Skunk!-1
Misc- 4
grinners-8
otter-1
Beaver-9

Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2006, 10:45 
HATCHET MAN
HATCHET MAN

armymedic.2 wrote:
you mean to take the rigiity out of it, not ball it up right?

Right, you crumple it up first then fold it out flat, it becomes soft and cloth-like, for lack of a better term.

Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Dec 2006, 20:35 
Trapper
Trapper

got it...is there any worry about it covering the jaws and assisting with pullouts-thanks abunch im really learning a lot here, put out 7 sets for fox and 4 for coon, plus 8 for rats today, ill update my stats if any luck

weasel-1
rats-46
Mink-
coon-3
Skunk!-1
Misc- 4
grinners-8
otter-1
Beaver-9

Post subject:
PostPosted: 10 Dec 2006, 12:40 
Forum not-so-Newbie
Forum not-so-Newbie

first cut your wax paper the size and shape of your jaws then crumple it up real good but remember to wear clean gloves when you do it. then i like to cut out a notch in the paper for the dog. when you place the paper tuck the edges UNDER the jaws. Good luck :wink:

Post subject: