Welcome to the Wild-About-Trapping.com Forums

Friends, Family and Outdoor Traditions
It is currently 11 Dec 2017, 18:10

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 22:43 
Offline
Trapper
Trapper

Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 00:53
Posts: 170
Location: Vegas
I've found a good deal but need to know if they will hold a coyote?

_________________
Coons--
Rats--
Beavers--
Rats--
Yotes--



A wise man once said "If I can't make a buck off it, I don't need it."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 22:47 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2011, 21:39
Posts: 1837
Location: Bland, VA.
they have been known to. but personal i would get at lease a #2 ..good coon and fox traps ....thanks, denny


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 22:51 
Offline
Trapper
Trapper

Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 00:53
Posts: 170
Location: Vegas
Well the reaseon I was asking is cause I was going to buy them to use for coon but wanted to use them for yote later.

_________________
Coons--
Rats--
Beavers--
Rats--
Yotes--



A wise man once said "If I can't make a buck off it, I don't need it."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 22:53 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper
User avatar

Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 19:48
Posts: 1968
Location: Montana
Its pretty small. Even if it is strong enough to hold them chances are the foot will get thrown out.

_________________
Ive gone to look for myself. If I should return while I'm gone, please keep me here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 23:02 
Offline
Trapper
Trapper

Joined: 17 Nov 2008, 00:53
Posts: 170
Location: Vegas
Thanks for the input fellahs I appreciate it.

_________________
Coons--
Rats--
Beavers--
Rats--
Yotes--



A wise man once said "If I can't make a buck off it, I don't need it."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2012, 09:53 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 16:53
Posts: 2998
Location: Minnesota
yes they will!

Image

not a great choice for yotes, but if you are on limited budget and willing to fix busted up traps, they will work. amazingly, this one did not damage my little 1.5 vic.

_________________
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2013, 10:08 
Offline
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Joined: 15 Jan 2013, 09:02
Posts: 8
I have held 3 yotes in the same 1.5 stock duke this year
prefer 2 or bigger but never pass up a prime spot if 1.5's is all ive got left.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2013, 12:46 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper
User avatar

Joined: 10 Dec 2011, 21:39
Posts: 1837
Location: Bland, VA.
Yoter wrote:
I have held 3 yotes in the same 1.5 stock duke this year
prefer 2 or bigger but never pass up a prime spot if 1.5's is all ive got left.



i like this guy already...... :--D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 16 Jan 2013, 21:35 
Offline
Forum not-so-Newbie
Forum not-so-Newbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2013, 22:25
Posts: 14
Location: Arkansas
bronco2 wrote:
they have been known to. but personal i would get at lease a #2 ..good coon and fox traps ....thanks, denny


x2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Jan 2013, 12:49 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 16:53
Posts: 2998
Location: Minnesota
I will say this.....you can catch nearly anything in a 1.5....I have even held a timberwolf. But after this year, having missed a bobcat because I didnt have a bigger trap and I put down a mb 450 instead, I believe in using the right size trap for the right size critter. Why would you want to do all that work, all that time checking sets, only to have a pull out or a destroyed trap. Plus you will probably educate more yotes than you will catch. Just something to consider....that one cat would have bought me a half dozen 550s. Do it right the first time and you will not have regrets.

_________________
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Jan 2013, 12:49 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: 30 Jan 2010, 16:53
Posts: 2998
Location: Minnesota
I will say this.....you can catch nearly anything in a 1.5....I have even held a timberwolf. But after this year, having missed a bobcat because I didnt have a bigger trap and I put down a mb 450 instead, I believe in using the right size trap for the right size critter. Why would you want to do all that work, all that time checking sets, only to have a pull out or a destroyed trap. Plus you will probably educate more yotes than you will catch. Just something to consider....that one cat would have bought me a half dozen 550s. Do it right the first time and you will not have regrets.

_________________
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Jan 2013, 16:42 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

Joined: 04 Oct 2010, 20:41
Posts: 1580
Location: Minnesota
I agree with Al. The 1.5 is an awesome trap for coon, rats, mink, and from what I hear fox. I would not use them on purpose for canine's personally. I learned that the hard way last week. All I really have are two types of traps. 1.5's for all the critters I listed above and then traps dedicated to use for coyote's....well I guess I have beaver traps too but I won't get into that.

_________________
Be patient and persevere; even the darkest night eventually gives way to the light of day.

BAIT? URINE? LURE? DON'T NEED IT WHEN I'M USING MB'S!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 Jan 2013, 08:17 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper

Joined: 26 Dec 2008, 13:58
Posts: 1272
Location: Williamsburg Kansas
If you use 1.5 for coyotes your eventually going to loose one. I don't know about the MB 450's cause I have never seen one but any other 1.5 size of trap is not heavy enough to consistantly hold coyotes. Key word being consistantly.

_________________
Home of:
NTCH Lockdown Sally
NTCH Sharky's Great White Jaws


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 18 Jan 2013, 09:42 
Offline
Professional Trapper
Professional Trapper
User avatar

Joined: 20 May 2010, 16:21
Posts: 3987
Location: Kansas
Jeff Piersol wrote:
If you use 1.5 for coyotes your eventually going to loose one. I don't know about the MB 450's cause I have never seen one but any other 1.5 size of trap is not heavy enough to consistantly hold coyotes. Key word being consistantly.



The 450's have the beefiness to hold one without getting tore up. The problem with them, is guiding the foot enough to get a solid hit, not all that easy to do. I wouldn't recommend using any 1.5 sized trap in just a regular dirt hole, you can't guide their foot enough.

_________________
Image Image



"The bitterness of low quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten" ----Benjamin Franklin on duke traps


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group